Daily Devotional for March 29, 2024 – Choose here and now who you will serve – and how!

Joshua 24:14-15  
Then Joshua told the people:

Worship the Lord, obey him, and always be faithful. Get rid of the idols your ancestors worshiped when they lived on the other side of the Euphrates River and in Egypt. But if you don’t want to worship the Lord, then choose here and now! Will you worship the same idols your ancestors did? Or since you’re living on land that once belonged to the Amorites, maybe you’ll worship their gods. I won’t. My family and I are going to worship and obey the Lord!

Scripture taken from the Contemporary English Version © 1991,1992, 1995 by American Bible Society, Used by Permission.

“It’s America and you are free to believe what you will.” 
 
This comment was posted on social media recently by a friend of mine. I will add that she also posts plenty of comments that make her own viewpoint on a variety of subjects abundantly clear. She is a follower of Jesus who believes in separation of church and state – but also in religious freedom and the U.S. Constitution . She is brave enough to stand up and speak truth to those who wish to hide behind their interpretation of the Bible and/or “idol worship” as they make all sorts of ridiculous or inflammatory claims and judgments. And she does so with tact and aplomb. My friend is a modern-day “Joshua,” if you will…and I want to be more like her!
 
I am so grateful to live in a country where I can express my thoughts and feelings somewhat unreservedly. I am thankful that we are free to worship as God leads us…that we can make choices about everything from where we will live to how we will spend our money to how we dress, what we do with our bodies, and who we choose for friends, acquaintances, and spouses. I am grateful that we live in a country where we don’t have to all think, speak, act, and look the same. I thank God every day for the many blessings and privileges I enjoy…and it is truly my desire that every other person could experience the same.
 
None of us has control over our gender, race, ethnic background, or upbringing. We won’t all become millionaires or celebrities. But God will meet each of us right where we are. He will guide and guard us – and if we will listen and follow His commands, God will bless us and meet our needs. Some are looking for a shortcut to God’s riches, while others simply have twisted scripture to suit their own personal, selfish agenda…and they will stop at nothing to get what they want! 
 
The words of Joshua still are true today… “If you don’t want to worship the LORD, then choose here and now.” The words of my friend are equally true…“You are free to believe what you will.” And Joshua’s final declaration is also mine… “I choose to worship and obey the LORD!” I will seek His will…and give Him complete control. I will not twist His words to fit my personal bias or selfish preferences. I will trust that God’s commands and plans are perfect…and I will rest in these.
 
On this Good Friday, we read in John 17 that Jesus spoke to God from the cross and said…“Holy Father, I am no longer in the world. I am coming to you, but my followers are still in the world. So keep them safe by the power of the name you have given me. Then they will be one with each other, just as you and I are one.” [John 17:11]  And in John 17:24, Jesus said, “Father, I want everyone you have given me to be with me, wherever I am. Then they will see the glory you have given me, because you loved me before the world was created.” 
 
The choice is ours to make. I know what – and WHO – I have decided to follow. Do you?  Alleluia!

©2024 Debbie Robus

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.