Daily Devotional for March 27, 2024 – “It is the LORD!” You don’t need a $60 Bible to get to know Him!

John 21:1-14
Later Jesus appeared again to the disciples beside the Lake of Galilee. This is how it happened:

A group of us were there—Simon Peter, Thomas, “The Twin,” Nathanael from Cana in Galilee, my brother James and I and two other disciples.

Simon Peter said, “I’m going fishing.”

“We’ll come too,” we all said. We did, but caught nothing all night. At dawn we saw a man standing on the beach but couldn’t see who he was.

He called, “Any fish, boys?”

“No,” we replied.

Then he said, “Throw out your net on the right-hand side of the boat, and you’ll get plenty of them!” So we did, and couldn’t draw in the net because of the weight of the fish, there were so many!

Then I said to Peter, “It is the Lord!” At that, Simon Peter put on his tunic (for he was stripped to the waist) and jumped into the water and swam ashore. The rest of us stayed in the boat and pulled the loaded net to the beach, about 300 feet away. When we got there, we saw that a fire was kindled and fish were frying over it, and there was bread.

“Bring some of the fish you’ve just caught,” Jesus said. So Simon Peter went out and dragged the net ashore. By his count there were 153 large fish; and yet the net hadn’t torn.

“Now come and have some breakfast!” Jesus said; and none of us dared ask him if he really was the Lord, for we were quite sure of it. Then Jesus went around serving us the bread and fish.

This was the third time Jesus had appeared to us since his return from the dead.

The Living Bible copyright © 1971 by Tyndale House Foundation. Used by permission of Tyndale House Publishers Inc., Carol Stream, Illinois 60188. All rights reserved.

As I formatted this scripture passage today, I highlighted three phrases/sentences, and each brought to mind specific issues.

  1. “We’ll come, too,” we all said. We are joiners and “gatherers” by nature. We like to be part of the group…to feel a sense of belonging – if only to one other person. Everyone wants to have friends and be liked by others, and the disciples were no exception. Additionally, there is “safety in numbers.” If everybody is saying it or doing it, surely this is okay behavior…right?
  2. Then I said to Peter, “It is the Lord!” This was the “aha moment!” when John recognized the presence of his Master. Such awareness doesn’t just happen. John had cultivated an intimate relationship with Jesus…a familiarity that enabled him to recognize the “Being” on the beach as His beloved Lord and Savior.
  3. …none of us dared ask Him if He was really the LORD, for we were quite sure of it.Then Jesus went around serving us the bread and fish. Again, the men exercised absolute faith in Jesus. And Jesus did what He always did…He turned the tables and served His disciples. In a demonstration of complete love and humility, our Savior who had just been crucified and placed in a tomb – all to spare each of us from the depths of hell because of our sins – cooked a meal and fed His beloved. If this doesn’t demonstrate how we are to behave, I don’t know what does!

Last night, I could not believe my eyes and ears when our former President appeared on television hawking a Bible that he is selling to raise funds for his campaign and his legal fees. My stomach turned as he talked about his “favorite book” and how every home should have one. Two thoughts immediately came to mind. First, if every home has a Bible that is never opened, read, studied, and internalized, the pages might as well be blank. You can’t know Jesus just by having a Bible in your home – or holding it in your hands.
 
The second thought was that Jesus would feed this man just as surely as He fed His faithful disciples. The Jesus I know, love, and serve died for the sins of every one of us – if we will accept His gift of salvation. He loves each of us and wants to be so familiar to us that we would recognize His spirit on a beach as He tended fish on a grill…and His commands in the Holy Bible would be so precious to us that they would guide and guard our every word and action.
 
I am not here to judge. But I will leave you with this. A wonderful Christian man I know is a local auctioneer, and I attended his auctions nearly every week for years. He never, ever sold a Bible. In fact, he made a point to refuse to do so. He would give Bibles away – or donate them to a charity or a church, but he would not take a dime of profit for them. I own dozens of Bibles. I have purchased many because of the commentaries in the margins – or the translation itself. The study of these Bibles serves to guide and build my relationship with Jesus as I consider various remarks regarding background, history, etymology, and personal experience – particularly from followers of Christ who I believe have cultivated an intimate relationship with Him.
 
For me, this particular offering does not fit these criteria. I immediately pictured Jesus in the temple with the moneychangers and how He angrily declared that these men had changed His house of prayer into a “den of thieves.” I wondered if Jesus feels the same way about this hawking of His Holy Word. I am sure there will be plenty who will buy one because others are doing so. But will the message contained inside speak to them? Will they recognize the voice of Jesus…and heed His commands? Will this copy of the Bible help them cultivate a deeper relationship with our Lord and Savior…or will its sale simply line the pockets of a single man as the “Best Book” is tossed on a shelf?
 
If you never read a word I have written again, so be it. But I cannot stand by and ignore what I consider to be blasphemy. My relationship with Jesus is too precious to look away and pretend this is either okay – or not happening. Considering all Christ has done for me, the least I can do is speak out on this – and say, “It is the LORD! I see You – and I am doing my dead-level best to follow Your commands!” We must each decide for ourselves who and how we will serve. If you simply must part with $60, consider making a donation to any one of several local charities that strive to serve as Christ commands…and to love others as He would surely do. Pick up a Bible you probably have at home already and spend some time in prayer and study and really get to know the LORD! He is waiting to visit with you – I am sure of it! Alleluia!
 
©2024 Debbie Robus

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.