Daily Devotional for September 24, 2019 – God’s peace that no one completely understands…do you have it?

Philippians 4:6-7
Don’t worry about anything, but pray about everything. With thankful hearts offer up your prayers and requests to God. Then, because you belong to Christ Jesus, God will bless you with peace that no one can completely understand. And this peace will control the way you think and feel.

Scripture taken from the Contemporary English Version © 1991,1992, 1995 by American Bible Society, Used by Permission.

It was just about this time four years ago that my mother was diagnosed with ovarian cancer. I remember telling my cousin Natalie that I was “eerily calm” about all of this. What I meant was that I knew this was serious. Something within me said, “You should be very upset…angry…tearful and filled with dread.” But as I said, I was inexplicably calm.

It wasn’t that I didn’t care…that I was not concerned…that I did not understand the gravity of this situation. But I recognized pretty quickly that God was shielding me from more “emotion” than I could manage, so that I could do what needed to be done to help my mother and the rest of our family. In the midst of great chaos, He was giving me peace. And He did this over and over in the next several months as my mother battled this beast…Greg’s brother suffered critical injuries in a car crash and subsequently died…and the cancer claimed my mother’s life.

In part, I knew about this “peace that passes understanding” because I had heard my mother recite this scripture passage more than once with relation to her own life. Additionally, I had endured some trying times in which Mother pointed out that “God’s Holy Spirit is shielding you from more than you can bear at one time.” So this time, I knew that God was guiding my steps, and that He was controlling much of the “numbness” that I felt. I didn’t fear God’s peace. In fact, the more that I rested in it, the more I saw how He was guiding each of my steps.

I will not lie to you and say that I never have a moment of fear and trepidation…that there are not times when I struggle to hold it all together in a particular situation. Sometimes, I may even panic a little! But then I think of God – and call on Him…and He quiets me. He sends His Holy Spirit to enshroud me with peace and calm…and the confidence that He’s got this – no matter what is happening.

All around us, we find turmoil. You may not be personally experiencing a “crisis” of spirit at this moment…and that’s a good thing! But troubles come to all of us. We will all go through heartaches, difficulties, times of uncertainty and moments of trepidation. We will all probably have moments of hopelessness. But God is bigger than any of this…and He is able to handle everything we throw at Him. It is up to us to make sure that we offer Him the opportunity to do just this, by sharing our hearts and trusting that He can handle it all.

In 1 Timothy 1:7, Paul tells us that…“God’s Spirit doesn’t make cowards out of us. The Spirit gives us power, love, and self-control.” I would offer that God’s Spirit also gives us peace. I have no clue what is happening in your life today…what might be causing you to feel unsettled, fearful, heartbroken – or even hopeless. But I do know that God is waiting to cover you with His peace that no one can completely understand. Won’t you trust Him to do this?

Pour out your heart and soul to God and let Him sift and sort out the details – and grant you His peace. Learn to recognize His protective shield – and to fully embrace it. Let this peace and calm allow you to fully live in Christ Jesus in all situations and circumstances…and to always give God the glory and praise for this incredible covering of love and care.

©2019 Debbie Robus

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.