Daily Devotional for May 16, 2024 – Rest in the Lord and wait on Him – Sunday’s comin’!

Psalm 37:7-13
Rest in the Lord; wait patiently for him to act. Don’t be envious of evil men who prosper.

Stop your anger! Turn off your wrath. Don’t fret and worry—it only leads to harm. For the wicked shall be destroyed, but those who trust the Lord shall be given every blessing. Only a little while and the wicked shall disappear. You will look for them in vain. But all who humble themselves before the Lord shall be given every blessing and shall have wonderful peace.

The Lord is laughing at those who plot against the godly, for he knows their judgment day is coming.

The Living Bible copyright © 1971 by Tyndale House Foundation. Used by permission of Tyndale House Publishers Inc., Carol Stream, Illinois 60188. All rights reserved.

Yesterday, a dear friend texted me after she received her Daily Devotional and showed me this part of our scripture passage from Psalm 35… “You protect the helpless from those in power; you save the poor and needy from those who hurt them.” She asked, “How can this be true when there are Putins and “presidents for life” and dictators in the world…and so many poor exploited?”
 
I replied that this was a good question for which I don’t have an answer. But I did tell her that I read a lot of historical novels – many about WWII and the horrible things that happened to people then. Each one has a “theme” of survival. I added that “I don’t know how God works this all out, but I just have to trust that there is nothing He will allow in my life that I cannot endure with His ‘protection’.”  As I read today’s passage, I was reminded that “those who humble themselves before the LORD shall be given every blessing and shall have wonderful peace.”
 
Here’s what I know…we all observe people who say and do terrible things…hurtful things that make us do a double-take and ask, “What on earth?!” And often, it seems like these people skate by and “get away with murder.” At the very least, they don’t appear to suffer the same consequences as “regular Joe’s” like you and me. Think of how many times in the last few years you have heard it said of a certain someone…“If I said or did those things, I’d be under the jail already!” 
 
This Psalm is very clear that “The LORD is laughing at those who plot against the godly, for He knows their judgment day is coming.” We are also reminded not to be envious of evil men and women who appear to prosper in their hatred, abuse, and assumed “privilege.” We are to remember who we are – and WHOSE we are! God is going to sort everything out…and truthfully, He is working on this already! 
 
I don’t understand poverty and hungry/abused children, war, and bigotry/bias against certain people and groups. But I know that God has a plan. I couldn’t put one foot in front of the other each day if I didn’t believe this to the depths of my heart. There is a song by Zach Williams that I often listen to when I walk. It’s called “Sunday’s Comin’.”  The tag line is “It may feel like Friday, but Sunday’s comin’!”  The song uses the events surrounding the crucifixion of Jesus to remind us that as terrible as “Friday” was, “Sunday’s comin’!” – and Jesus is Alive.
 
This Psalm is reminding us to “Rest in the Lord; wait patiently for him to act.” And remember that “Sunday’s Comin’” and we need to be ready! Alleluia!

©2024 Debbie Robus

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.