Daily Devotional for September 27, 2022 – Living in God’s undeserved grace…and letting Him make us strong

2 Corinthians 12:8-9
Three times I begged the Lord to make this suffering go away. But he replied, “My gift of undeserved grace is all you need. My power is strongest when you are weak.” So if Christ keeps giving me his power, I will gladly brag about how weak I am.

Scripture taken from the Contemporary English Version © 1991,1992, 1995 by American Bible Society, Used by Permission.

In the words of author and television personality, Robin Roberts, “Everybody’s got something.” You don’t have to look very far to find someone with a physical impediment of some sort. Others are dealing with mental struggles…relationship issues, depression, and dementia. Some of my dearest friends are dyslexic, while others are recovering addicts and alcoholics. I am well-acquainted with several people who have become unable to drive because of age and ailments…and others who are barely able to walk. Some require assistance to transfer from one place to another. A couple of dear friends are suffering with aphasia…the inability to speak. My own grandmother developed this condition and watching her struggle to communicate was heartbreaking.

Every one of these people has been blessed with the gift of Christ’s undeserved grace. And many offer a powerful witness to the rest of us, despite whatever affliction threatens to weaken them. They are effective in their encouragement of others. They bear witness to the love and care of Jesus for all His children. Yes, Christ could surely “heal” each one of these beloved people of whatever ails or challenges them. Yes, God could stop all death and destruction…all hatred, dissension, and discrimination. But if He did this, how would we demonstrate our trust and faith in Him? The day that everything is truly perfect, you and I will be in Heaven!

Meanwhile, on this earth, we are called to rise above our “sufferings” and show others how God equips and strengthens us, even in difficulty. We are to demonstrate empathy for those who are struggling – and encourage them. We are to show the world how we work to bring people together, stamp out hatred and dissension, and include all in our circle of love and acceptance – all in the name of Christ Jesus. We are to do all we can to “heal” others and offer them God’s gift of undeserved grace.

Like Paul, there have surely been times when I have asked God to remove a certain challenge or affliction from my life. But I trust His timing…and His will. Whatever He gives me, it will always be covered in more grace, love, and care than I deserve. I am confident that with Christ in my life, all things really are possible. And I am compelled to keep moving forward toward that end.

Yes, everybody’s got something, but with God, everybody’s got love, grace, mercy and His power in abundance. It’s time we started demonstrating this to the world. Alleluia!

©2022 Debbie Robus

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.