Daily Devotional for April 30, 2024 – Listen to God in all things…and eat your vegetables!

Psalm 5:8-12  
Lord, lead me as you promised me you would; otherwise my enemies will conquer me. Tell me clearly what to do, which way to turn. For they cannot speak one truthful word. Their hearts are filled to the brim with wickedness. Their suggestions are full of the stench of sin and death. Their tongues are filled with flatteries to gain their wicked ends. O God, hold them responsible. Catch them in their own traps; let them fall beneath the weight of their own transgressions, for they rebel against you.

But make everyone rejoice who puts his trust in you. Keep them shouting for joy because you are defending them. Fill all who love you with your happiness. For you bless the godly man, O Lord; you protect him with your shield of love.

The Living Bible copyright © 1971 by Tyndale House Foundation. Used by permission of Tyndale House Publishers Inc., Carol Stream, Illinois 60188. All rights reserved.

A friend shared a meme on Facebook that said…

Mom’s Favorite Sayings

  1. What part of no don’t you understand?
  2. I don’t care who started it!
  3. Money doesn’t grow on trees.
  4. Your face is going to freeze like that.
  5. Your hands are not broken.
  6. Beds are made for sleeping, not jumping.
  7. No one said life is fair.
  8. Eat your vegetables.
  9. I don’t know is NOT an answer.
  10. Because I said so…that’s why!

My friend noted that she could hear her late mother – along with several teachers – saying these things. I would like to suggest that GOD also offers this wisdom – and much more – to us. The question is…are we paying attention? Are we listening to God’s voice over the din of others who want us to think, speak, and act this way or that? Are we trusting God to guide us perfectly – even when what He tells us runs counter to what others say or how we would rather behave? Are we operating in God’s truths rather than those that make us fit in or feel good in the moment?
 
As our kids enter the teenage years and the children of friends prepare to go to college and beyond, I am keenly aware of how badly I want to impress upon all of them that their worth in God’s eyes is enough. I want to convince these young people that what God tells them – how and where He leads them – is all that matters. There are plenty of adults who still need to learn this lesson, too. I speak from experience as a former “people pleaser” who truly wanted to make others happy and comfortable. And too many times, this came at a compromise of my own worth. Even when I knew that what others tried to convince me did not line up with God’s message, I went along with it. Certain “rules” and rituals of the church readily come to mind.
 
I also recall times when I stood up in the workplace or elsewhere for what I knew was right and true in God’s eyes – and this “cost” me in terms of relationships – and at least one job. But I can tell you, the old adage that “when God closes a door, He opens a window,” is absolutely true. And He saw me through every difficulty (and blessed me in the process), and I know He will keep on doing this for the rest of my life.
 
Listen to God. Understand how precious you are to Him – and how much He loves you. Trust God in hard decisions and lean on His “understanding” over your own and that of others. Stop letting others shame or bully you into saying and doing things that you know are not God-ordained. Enjoy the peace and protection of our Heavenly Father…and revel in the joy of His love and care. Alleluia!

©2024 Debbie Robus

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.