Daily Devotional for October 29, 2023 – People are watching…so be careful what you say and do!

Luke 17:1-4 
Jesus said to his disciples: There will always be something that causes people to sin. But anyone who causes them to sin is in for trouble. A person who causes even one of my little followers to sin would be better off thrown into the ocean with a heavy stone tied around their neck. So be careful what you do.

Correct any followers of mine who sin, and forgive the ones who say they are sorry. Even if one of them mistreats you seven times in one day and says, “I am sorry,” you should still forgive that person.

Scripture taken from the Contemporary English Version © 1991,1992, 1995 by American Bible Society, Used by Permission.

I read a joke online about a little boy who told his dad, “I’m going to marry Grandma.” The dad told him this was not possible, and the child said, “But I love her, and she loves me. She’s a great cook, and she takes good care of me.” The father protested, “But you cannot marry my mother!” The little boy replied, “Why not?  You married mine!”  
 
People are watching! Right or wrong, observations and assumptions are being made. And Jesus tells us in these verses to be careful what we say and do, lest we cause another to sin. Can I be “real” with you for a minute? This morning, my thoughts and emotions are all over the place. I am so blessed…I have a wonderful life and abundance in every aspect of it. Most importantly, I know that I am a redeemed, anointed, precious child of the Most High God – and He guides and guards every step of my life.
 
I have no room to complain. There is nothing I cannot handle with God’s help and care. At the same time, I am unable to understand what is happening all around me. I turn on the television, and there are dozens of accounts of selfishness and hatred. There are people committing crimes and indignities against their fellow man because of mental illness or addiction…or someone told them to do this. Some observed the words and actions of a person or group who claimed some sort of “authority” or “wisdom,” and they thought, “I must act on this.” Often, it appears that many people have decided that what truly matters is pleasing themselves and fitting in with their chosen group.
 
For decades, I went along to get along. I looked the other way as people I lived alongside every day became more polarized – and more vocal about their biases and ideologies. I grew up in an all-white community in the 1960s-70s. I heard the talk of those who described people of color as “less than” in some way – and I remember cutting people of color a wide berth when shopping in Little Rock. We ignored or excused the derogatory names for people from other countries and ethnic backgrounds. We readily accepted that people who belonged to other denominations were not as “Christian” as we were – and maybe weren’t truly Christians at all. And we did all of this while attending worship services several times a week, reading the Bible, praying, and singing hymns of praise to God for His all-encompassing love, care, and redemption!
 
Let’s just say I have evolved in recent years. I now see how hypocritical I was…how judgmental much of my behavior was – and what a poor example of the love of Christ Jesus I offered to others. And I realize that I must be more cognizant of how I speak, act, and represent my Heavenly Father. I must take the words of Jesus to heart in my own life…to make sure that I do not speak and act in a way that would cause someone else to sin. I must strive every day to demonstrate the love and inclusion of Jesus to others…to show all who I encounter that I see them…I accept them as equally precious to Jesus…I hear them and recognize that they are human beings, and God loves them unconditionally.
 
In my world, all are welcome at God’s table…in His houses of worship…and in my “circle.” We are not little children who don’t understand that we can’t marry our grandparents. In the (paraphrased) words of the late poet and author, Maya Angelou…“We know better, so we must do better!” Christ is counting on us to love others as He did…to accept, forgive, and welcome them. We may be the only glimpse of Jesus another person ever sees. Make it count…and be careful what you say and do! People are watching…make sure you truly show them Jesus!  Alleluia!

©2023 Debbie Robus

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.