Daily Devotional for May 23, 2022 – Earthly “kings” or the King of Kings…who will you choose to serve?

John 18:36-37
Then Jesus answered, “I am not an earthly king. If I were, my followers would have fought when I was arrested by the Jewish leaders. But my Kingdom is not of the world.”

Pilate replied, “But you are a king then?”

“Yes,” Jesus said. “I was born for that purpose. And I came to bring truth to the world. All who love the truth are my followers.”

The Living Bible copyright © 1971 by Tyndale House Foundation. Used by permission of Tyndale House Publishers Inc., Carol Stream, Illinois 60188. All rights reserved.

Primary Election Day happens this week in our state. For months now, we’ve been inundated with television ads, mailbox flyers, and road signs galore promoting this candidate or that one. All are promising to “change the world” – or at least the district, county, or jurisdiction they represent. We humans tend to put a lot of stock in these leaders and their promises. Some people all but elevate a few of these folks to the stature of “king” – and a few of the candidates have become so deluded as to believe the hype!

We would do well to remember who our One True King really is. Jesus could step down to earth today and change everything. He could appear and declare that He is King of all – and literally turn our world on its head. But Jesus doesn’t operate like that! We have free will, and the choice to follow Him is completely ours.

Jesus doesn’t want us to follow Him out of obligation. He is not a dictator. He wants us to seek His truths – and to ask ourselves, “Is this the path Jesus wants me to take? Does Jesus endorse this decision or that mandate?” I am not suggesting we break the law. But a lot of decisions and claims are being made by “Christians” that, at best, should send us scrambling to ask God what He thinks. We should be asking if these positions are truly rooted in the truth…or whether they are the notions of would-be “kings” who twist things to suit their own agendas.

I find that almost every day lately, something arises in the news, on social media – or in a private conversation with someone – that requires I spend some time talking to God for clarification. A lot of it doesn’t pass the “smell test” – much less ring right in my heart. I ask, “What would Jesus do?” a lot these days…and often, the answer is counter to what I am being told by others.

Following Jesus’ truths will seldom make us popular with the masses. It may even cost us a few friends. But I still serve at the pleasure of the One True King, Jesus Christ. I am proud to be a follower of His truths, to love others as He loves me, and to share His teachings at every turn. I know that my true home is secured in His presence for all Eternity. What about you?

©2022 Debbie Robus

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.