Daily Devotional for June 18, 2024 – Building a reputation for wisdom…it’s time to humbly let go and let God have control!

James 3:13-16
Do you want to be counted wise, to build a reputation for wisdom? Here’s what you do: Live well, live wisely, live humbly. It’s the way you live, not the way you talk, that counts. Mean-spirited ambition isn’t wisdom. Boasting that you are wise isn’t wisdom. Twisting the truth to make yourselves sound wise isn’t wisdom. It’s the furthest thing from wisdom—it’s animal cunning, devilish plotting. Whenever you’re trying to look better than others or get the better of others, things fall apart and everyone ends up at the others’ throats.

Scripture quotations from The Message. © 1993, 1994, 1995, 1996, 2000, 2001, 2002 by Eugene Peterson. Used by permission of NavPress, Colorado Springs, CO. All rights reserved.

As I read this scripture passage today, my first thought was, “We are so there!” Everywhere we turn, people are operating with mean-spirited ambition, boasting that they are wise, twisting the truth, and behaving with animal cunning and devilish plotting. And with the surge in AI, all bets are off. Everywhere we turn, people are playing fast and loose with facts to try to appear wise, important – or even superior. This is not just a political event…the same behaviors occur on a more “local” level in every situation from Little League to social circles – to church bodies. Yes, believe it or not, there are many who twist Bible verses and take them out of context to try to prove their point – or to justify their words and actions!
 
We should probably all print out this passage from James 3 and read it daily. We should practice living well, wisely, and humbly. We should spend time in prayer and ask God to show us where, when, and how to speak and act. And we should boldly stand up and say, “No! I will not participate in – or agree with – XYZ!” when we hear God telling us to do so.
 
Let me ask you this…do you trust God? Do you believe His promises to love you no matter what and to always have you in the palm of His hand? Then why are you afraid to speak and act in truth and wisdom? What is keeping you from humble service to God…and treating others as He has commanded with every word and deed? Why is it so hard to “let go and let God” have complete control? These are questions I am asking myself, and I am not sure I have answers to all them quite yet. But I am actively searching and seeking them, because I want to operate more freely in God’s will over my own. I want to be “wise” by God’s standards…I want to be His humble, faithful servant in all things. I am definitely a work in progress, but I am determined to keep at it…what about you? Alleluia!

©2024 Debbie Robus

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.