Daily Devotional for June 11, 2024 – Treating others as we wish to be treated – and loving them as God loves them…are you humble and gentle?

Ephesians 4:2-3
Be humble and gentle. Be patient with each other, making allowance for each other’s faults because of your love. Try always to be led along together by the Holy Spirit and so be at peace with one another.

The Living Bible copyright © 1971 by Tyndale House Foundation. Used by permission of Tyndale House Publishers Inc., Carol Stream, Illinois 60188. All rights reserved.

Last week, I met my childhood friend, Beth, at our regular local coffee house – the Jitterbug. We get together there about once a year when Beth comes “home” from Memphis for a visit. Last week, Beth asked me if I ever had any difficult students in my class. Boy, did I ever! I told her about a few of them that particularly stand out in my memory – including one boy whose reputation followed him even on the bus to a central exchange point, where he “head-butted” the school’s Assistant Superintendent one afternoon. The next morning, administrators showed up at our building and wanted to know which one of us was the teacher of this child. When I sheepishly acknowledged that he was “mine,” they all said, “You have our deepest sympathies! We don’t know how you do it!”
 
Indeed, this little boy was a handful. He had a penchant for getting angry and throwing chairs! But, I loved him all the same. He was as precious and worthy of my time and attention as any student in my classroom…and I know that God loves him dearly. I hope and pray that he outgrew the wild behaviors of his early childhood and truly overcame the proclivity for outbursts.
 
We all know someone who rubs us the wrong way. There are certain people we would rather not encounter – or with whom we prefer not to share any interaction. We all know the person of whom it is said, “You just can’t reason with So-and-So,” or the mention of his/her name produces an eye roll for some reason. And yet, these people are just as valuable to God as you and I are. God loves them unconditionally and wants the very best for them, as well. And we are called to love them with this same love, grace, mercy, kindness, and understanding. 
 
You don’t have to like every person you encounter…and you don’t have to go out of your way to spend time with those who irritate or annoy you in some manner. But you must always be kind, humble, gentle, and patient. I struggle with this sometimes. There are people who absolutely try my last nerve – and even a few minutes around them is difficult. But I would hope if these people who are obnoxious or exasperating knocked on my door – or walked up to me in public, I would be cordial, civil, even gracious to them. 
 
Let’s be honest…not everyone is our cup of tea for a myriad of reasons. But we may not be theirs, either! Aren’t you glad that we are all precious and valued by God? Don’t we owe it to Him to treat others as we wish to be treated…and to offer them dignity and grace even when we may have to bite our tongue?
 
I believe God allows us to encounter difficult people…both children and adults…to test our patience, humility, and faithful obedience to Him. They are the “acid test” for our witness and discipleship…and a true gauge of whether we truly genuinely respect and honor God – and give Him glory and complete control. I’m a work in progress…and I bet you are, too. But we must keep working…praying…and trusting God to give us humility and grace in all situations – and toward all people. Alleluia!

©2024 Debbie Robus

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.